Judging Back

Each entry is assessed blind by panels of accredited wine judges from the wine writing and teaching community. The criteria for judging the entries not only involve having an appreciation for wine, but also include a knowledge and expertise of wines from the Ontario region. Included amongst the winning categories; Ontario Red and White Wines of the Year, Ontario Winemaker of the Year, and the Ontario Journalism Award, which recognizes the best article published in 2015 on the Ontario wine industry.

How does the judging occur?

The Ontario Wine Awards wine judging, with the exception of Icewines, will be held at George Brown College Centre for Hospitality and Culinary Arts on May 7 and is not open to the public.

Icewine Judging will take place on Sunday, May 8 at the Fine Wine Reserve Wine Storage and is not open to the public.

Participating Judges from 2016

  • Alan McGinty
  • Alexander Powell
  • Andr√© Proulx
  • Angela Aiello
  • Astrid Brummer
  • Carolyn Hammond
  • Chris Boland
  • Chris Waters
  • Dean Tudor
  • Dick Snyder
  • Edward Finstein
  • Frank Baldock
  • Fred Lamprecht
  • Jay Whitely
  • John Szabo
  • Konrad Ejbich
  • Krysta Oben
  • Linda Bramble
  • Lindsay Groves
  • Magdalena Kaiser
  • Michael Godell
  • Michael Vaughan
  • Niall McCutter
  • Sheila Swerling Puritt
  • Stephen Elphick
  • Steve Gunning
  • Tim Appelt
  • Zoltan Szabo
Events & Contests
Ontario Wine Awards
  Awards Ceremony
  +  Judging
  Medal Winners
Ontario Wine Week
Photo Gallery