Each entry is assessed blind by panels of accredited wine judges from the wine writing and teaching community. The criteria for judging the entries not only involve having an appreciation for wine, but also include a knowledge and expertise of wines from the Ontario region. Included amongst the winning categories; Ontario Red, White and Sparkling Wines of the Year, Ontario Winemaker of the Year, and the Ontario Journalism Award, which recognizes the best article published in 2021 on the Ontario wine industry.

  • André Proulx

  • Andrew Ttooulias

  • Anne Popoff

  • Astrid Brummer

  • Carolyn Hammond

  • Chris Waters

  • Christopher O'Connor

  • Christopher Sealy

  • Darrin Mak

  • Dean Tudor

  • Debbie Templeton-Smrekar

  • Dick Snyder

  • Doug Beatty

  • Fred Lamprecht

  • Jan Didriksen

  • Jeremy Ennis

  • John Peters

  • John Szabo

  • Ken Burford

  • Melissa Pulvermacher

  • Michael Godel

  • Steven Elphick

  • Tim Appelt

  • Tim White


Ontario Wine Award winners will be unveiled at an afternoon presentation, which will be held at Niagara College in Niagara-on-the-Lake (date TBC). Sponsors, media, trade and industry representatives alike will be in attendance to help celebrate the successes of Ontario’s wine industry. During the presentations, guests will be treated to a reception of local appetizers paired with a selection of the Gold Medal wines.

For additional information, please contact Sandy Kurbis at


Due to the continuing
COVID-19 restrictions, we have sadly made the difficult decision to cancel the 2021 OWA. We look forward to celebrating with everyone in 2022!
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon